Skip to main content

Discourse Theory: Ways Forward, 2nd Edition

Location: Brussels
Add to personal calendar
23rd, 24rd March 2023 - Brussels

Discourse Theory: ways forward, 2nd edition

Palace of the Academies


The international research group DESIRE led by ECHO co-director Benjamin De Cleen has launched a call for papers for the second edition of the colloquium Discourse Theory: Ways Forward. The call can be found here and below.


DESIRE, the centre for the study of Democracy, Signification and Resistance is happy to invite you to submit paper proposals for the second edition of the colloquium ‘Discourse Theory: Ways Forward’. After the success of the first edition in 2019 we are looking forward to continuing the conversation.
The colloquium will take place on 23-24 March 2023 in the Palace of the Academies in Brussels.

The aim of the colloquium is to bring together scholars working with constructivist and post-structuralist discursive approaches, broadly defined. The colloquium is open to scholars working on a wide range of themes across disciplines, with work on the following themes especially welcomed:

  • Environment and climate
  • Media and journalism
  • Political communication and propaganda
  • Health and care
  • The discursive and the material
  • Discourse, class, and political economy
  • The past, present and future of progressive politics
  • Nationalism, racism, and the (populist) far right
  • Sex and gender
  • International relations, conflict and war
  • Discourse theory, critique and practice

Confirmed keynote speakers are Emmy Eklundh (Cardiff University) and Alan Finlayson (University of East Anglia).

We invite paper proposals as well as panel proposals. The deadline for paper proposals and panel proposals is 1 September 2022.
Paper proposals should include, in the following order:

  • Paper title
  • Author name(s), email(s) and affiliation(s)
  • Indication of which of the colloquium topics (one or several) the paper fits with most closely
  • A 300-word abstract giving a clear indication of the tradition(s) of discursive research the paper builds upon, central concepts in the paper, method, and main arguments and results.

Panel proposals should include four paper presentations. Panel proposals should be submitted by the panel convener(s) as one document (the individual paper proposals should not be submitted individually). Panel proposal should include, in the following order:

  • Panel title
  • The name(s) of the panel convenor(s), emails and affiliations
  • Indication of which of the colloquium topics (one or several) the panel fits with most closely
  • A 200-word panel abstract
  • The 300-word abstracts for each of the four individual papers (following the instructions for individual abstracts (see above)

Both paper and panel proposals should be submitted by 1 September 2022 at the latest via EasyChair.
Submissions must be uploaded in PDF format. 

​Colloquium fee
The colloquium fee includes lunch and coffee breaks on both days of the colloquium.
The standard colloquium fee is €250.
The reduced colloquium fee for PhD students and researchers with precarious positions is €100.
When applying, please indicate whether you qualify for the reduced colloquium fee.
For members of the DESIRE research group, participation in the colloquium is free.
Participants are expected to arrange their own travel and accommodation

The colloquium program committee consists of Benjamin De Cleen (Vrije Universiteit Brussel, colloquium co-coordinator), Jana Goyvaerts (Vrije Universiteit Brussel, colloquium co-coordinator), Nico Carpentier (Charles University), Jason Glynos (University of Essex), Yannis Stavrakakis (Aristotle University of Thessaloniki), Ilija Tomanić Trivundža (University of Ljubljana).
The local organizing committee consists of Benjamin De Cleen, Jana Goyvaerts, Max Grönegräs, Savvas Voutyras (Vrije Universiteit Brussel), and Pieter Maeseele (Universiteit Antwerpen).

PhD masterclasses
The day before the collloquium, on 22 March 2023, we organise PhD masterclasses on Discourse Theoretical Approaches to Politics, Society, Communication and Media. Confirmed masterclasses are with Nico Carpentier (Charles University in Prague), Emmy Eklundh (Cardiff University), Jenny Gunnarsson Payne (Södertörn University), Alan Finlayson (University of East Anglia) and Yannis Stavrakakis (Aristotle University of Thessaloniki).
More information on the PhD masterclass and how to apply can be found here.
The application and selection process for the colloquium and the masterclasses are independent of each other.